Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research 101 : Using Databases

Why use Library databases?

Library databases are online collections that search quality journals, magazines, newspapers, and other academic sources. Some databases will be directly focused on a subject, while others are general databases that cover a wide range of subjects. All database material has been fact-checked by an editor or peer-reviewed. These are scholarly resources that have been properly cited and can be trusted. You can also easily filter your search results to find the best material for your needs. Most databases also provide citation tools and full text of the material, so you do not have to search harder to find the full article or journal.

A library database can be a one-stop resource center for everything you need. 
 

What about Google?

You can use Google.

The internet is great for general topic searches or when you are looking for an overview of information to search for on a database.

But be aware...Google is not a database. Google is a search engine that takes any words typed into its search box and looks for any websites with those same words. Anyone can create a website and not all the information is accurate or up to date. Google may help you find some scholarly journals, but chances are you will need to sign-in or pay a database to access the full-text of the material.

A library database already gives you full access at no cost and a librarian can help answer any questions you may have.